Our Cirriculum

Ranking/Belt System

How to Join

Martial Arts Training Curriculum

Our curriculum is designed to gradually improve a person's flexibility, balance and overall coordination. As a student progresses through our program they will notice increased strength, stamina and overall energy. Students will also learn to defend themselves. However, the most important are the mental aspects of the Martial Arts. In your studies you will come to understand that this is a way of life, not just a physical workout.

In the traditional Chinese system there is no belt or sash ranking but instead a "family" system for many wushu schools. The teacher is the father (sifu), elder students are the big brothers or uncles and younger students are little brothers. This system is very popular among the Chinese schools and finds its roots in older martial arts society. For convenience, it was decided to adopt a system of colored sashes or belts. These sashes are to measure the progress of each student and mark that progress with a rank. Ranks are awarded during a formal testing procedure, although the student is always being evaluated during each class session.

Back to Top

The ranking system employed by the Wushu Institute involves six levels:

1. No Sash

2. White Sash (available only for students under the age of 10)

3. Yellow Sash (Sing sang)

4. Blue Sash (Si di)

5. Brown Sash (Si hing)

6. Red Sash (Si suk)

7. Level One Black Sash (Lao Shr)

8. Level Two Black Sash (Sifu)

Each rank is exemplified by a common term: Interest (no sash, white), Achievement (yellow), Perseverance (blue), Understanding (brown), Knowledge (red), and Commitment (black).

For a student to pass into the next rank, he/she must perform all the material for their present and all previous levels. This means that whenever a student tests for the next rank, they will be tested on all the material they have learned since the first day they came to class.

In the Wushu Institute, the normal progression of training is from "external to internal". The students use the soft arts to balance their intense external training. For this reason, at higher levels the internal arts of Taiji Quan are taught.

Each sash level has a specific curriculum. As you progress into the advanced levels your sash tests will be further apart and will take longer to complete. Before attaining black sash (Lao shr) the student will learn 5 Basic Drills, 6 different open hand forms (Basic, 32 Long Fist, Collapsing Fist, Crane Fist Set, Raise And Fall and 24 Simplified Taiji Quan) and 4 weapons (Basic Staff, 32 Basic Straight Sword, 32 Basic Board sword, 32 Basic Spear. There is one optional hand form (Donnie Yen) and one optional weapon (Kwan Do) that can replace one hand form and weapon form.

To attain the rank of black sash (Sifu) the student will learn all seven compulsory Wushu routines (Chan Quan, Nan Quan, Taiji Quan, Staff, Straight Sword, Board Sword, and Spear). This curriculum provides the student a rich background of techniques and styles to call upon.

Back to Top

How to Join

The only way to join the WuShu Institute Family is to come to class and work hard. Once you build up your leg strength and learn the first basic drill, you will have the opportunity to show what you have learned to the students. The students decide who joins the family.

Back to Top